March 20, 2013: Boom, crash.

Just as things are going well, it’s time to crash down again, can you tell?
I knew this happiness was a sham.

 
Man, it wasn’t before….
I used to jump across craters on my moon shoes.
I had moves like Jagger has never seen and
mean wasn’t in my vocabulary.
It’s scary how age makes you into everyone else.
Told to become whatever you want and you can,
if you fit the mold.

 
Well, I’ve never been good with my hands and now I’ve got
shelves of books
that I’ve finished but
never
read.
It’s been said that happiness comes from success, and I think,
“YES!”
There’s the key to everything I need
and success is easy to come by if you set your bar
low
and chop down the tree so you can see instead of climbing.
But what of that view if you cut down all the plants
and shave the land so you can stand the tallest.
The land becomes nothing but flat, brown

 
shit.

 
So you’re the queen of that,
hats off to you sir.
I’m sure you’ll go far, though I can’t say
where you go will be any different than
where you came.
So what of the view if you cut down all the plants…
If you had climbed high,
tried a little,
cried a little in the pain and exhaustion of life,
that strife would be worth the new birth of a smile on your naked lips
as you stare out.
Shout insanities,
get rid of your vanities,
you’re at the top of something that’s much
BIGGER
than you. Don’t move, it’s where you need to be.

 

IMGP0504

Published by

soundsofsilence1087

I'm your average Canadian girl. I write because I love to and because if I didn't, I would most likely become more insane than I already am. So enjoy my blog :) It's not perfect, but then again, what is?

5 thoughts on “March 20, 2013: Boom, crash.”

  1. Hi all poets! Are you looking to get your Poems out there? Well your in luck! My blog features contests in which your poem may win! Please visit my blog for further info.
    Thank you,
    The young po3t team

Leave a comment